PhD in Neurosciences



The Interuniversity Doctoral Program in Neurosciences, coordinated by the Department of Neurosciences of the University of the Basque Country, brings together a teaching staff made up of internationally renowned professors in research and teaching, as well as highly motivated students in a scientific environment that shares a firm commitment to understanding the function and dysfunction of the nervous system.

The program offers specialized training in neuroscience to students from diverse backgrounds and covers multiple fields of research, from cellular and molecular neuroscience to clinical, cognitive and behavioral neuroscience, depending on the different lines of research offered at each university. The ultimate goal is to train students to lead research in neuroscience, health sciences or education. Students have the opportunity to work with any member of the teaching staff who is linked to the program and at the university in which they are located: University of the Basque Country, Pablo de Olavide University, Universidade da Coruña, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Rovira University i Virgili.

link to the coordinating university:

This study is verified and published

This study renewed its accreditation on 22 July 2021.


Annual PhD tuition fees
Approximate price applicable to all students (non Spanish and non EU included). Secretarial expenses, school insurance and training complements (if applicable) are not included.
Offered place for academic course 2024/2025

Why study

Neuroscience, both in its basic and clinical aspects, has reached an extraordinary degree of development and importance. It is one of the most captivating topics in scientific research today and its relevance transcends the field of specialists, being considered of utmost importance in the educational and social field. For this reason, the training of researchers in the field of Neurosciences is essential.

This is an interuniversity study, in addition to University of A Coruña, the following universities also colaborate in teaching:

  • Universidad del País Vasco
  • Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Universidad Pablo de Olavide
  • Universidad de Castilla - La Mancha


Starting academic year 2013-2014
Authorization DOG publication date 31/01/2014
Official BOE publication date 30/04/2014
BOE syllabus publication date 30/04/2014